About SMCS


Young Professionals

Student Activities




Technical Committees

Board of Governors

Society Committees



SMC Chapters

Distinguished Lecturer Program

Technical Committee on Cognitive Computing


Who we are

TC Chair

University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Aston University, UK


Our goals

Cognitive Computing breaks the traditional boundary between neuroscience and computer science, and paves the way for machines that will have reasoning abilities analogous to a human brain. It is an interdisciplinary research and application field, and uses methods from psychology, biology, signal processing, physics, information theory, mathematics, and statistics. The development of Cognitive Computing will cross fertilize these other research areas with which it interacts. There are many open problems to be addressed and to be defined. This technical committee tackles these problems in both academia and industry, and focuses on new foundations/technologies that are intrinsic to Cognitive Computing.

What we are doing

  • Special sessions at annual IEEE SMC conferences
  • Special issues in IEEE Transactions on Systems , Man, and Cybernetics: Systems (TSMCS), Transactions on Cybernetics (TC) and Transactions on Human-Machine Systems (THMS) (making use of knowledge from neuroscience/cognitive science to conventional computing research and applications, e.g., vision, music, machine learning, and pattern recognition)
  • Technical co-sponsorship of academic conferences
  • Serving as Associate Editors for IEEE Transactions: TSMCS, TC, THMS
  • Technical papers for submission to IEEE Transactions: TSMCS, TC, THMS
  • Reviewing of articles submitted to IEEE Transactions: TSMCS, TC, THMS

Why don't you join us?

The Cognitive Computing Technical Committee provides opportunities to continue professional and personal development by
  • Providing unique opportunities to discuss problems in Cognitive Computing
  • Networking friends in same/related research and/or application fields Joint (interdisciplinary) research proposals and share of research resources
  • Organizing conferences, special issues, and special sessions
  • Publishing papers in high-quality conferences and journals


  • Hussain Amir , University of Stirling, UK
  • Xianbin Cao , Beihang University, China
  • Xiaochun Cheng , Middlesex University, London, UK
  • Diane Cook , Washington State University, USA
  • Xinbo Gao , Xidian University, China
  • Jonathan Gratch , University of Southern California, USA
  • Tom Heskes , Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • Kaiqi Huang , Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Katsushi Ikeuchi , University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Laurent Itti , University of Southern California, USA
  • Xuelong Li, University of London, UK
  • Qingshan Liu, Nanjing University of Information Science & Technology, China
  • Weifeng Liu, China University of Petroleum, China
  • Stephen J. Maybank , Birkbeck College, University of London, UK
  • Fionn Murtagh , Royal Holloway, University of London, UK
  • Andrew Ortony , Northwestern University, USA
  • Witold Pedrycz , University of Alberta, Canada
  • Edwige Pissaloux , Universitté Paris 6, France
  • Dan Roth , University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Thomas Serre , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Ling Shao, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Mingli Song, University of Washington, USA
  • Tieniu Tan , Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Rolf P. Würtz , Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
  • Dong Xu , Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Xin Yao , University of Birmingham, UK
  • Jieping Ye, Arizona State University, USA
  • Jun Yu, Xiamen University, China
  • Liangpei Zhang , Wuhan University, China
  • Qi Zhao, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Mengchu Zhou, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA


Scope and Title Change of the IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics
The SMC Society is pleased to announce that the following have been elected to the SMCS Board of Governors as Member at Large

Patrick Chan
Honghai Liu
Rodney Roberts
Fabio Roli
Robert Woon

Get connected with the SMC Society and its members

Join the social networking groups of the SMC Society

SMC Society Brochure

Click here to download (1.4 Mb)

Congratulations to the SMC Society members who were elected IEEE Fellows for 2013

Kathlelen Carley
Sam Kwong
Zidong Wang
Gautam Biswas
Ashok Srivastava
Hisao Ishibuchi
Robert Kozma
Kay Tan
Kazuo Tanaka
Germano Torres
Martin Buss
Hong Zhang
Haizhou Li
Yi Murphey

SMC Society Awards for 2013
At the Annual Awards Ceremony held during the 2013 International Conference on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics in Manchester, UK, SMCS volunteers were presented with society awards to recognize their service to the SMC Society. [more]
NEW - RSS feeds for SMC Transaction Content
...more info about RSS feeds...
Automatic Table of Contents alerts
Sign up for automatic Table of Contents alerts for your favorite transaction(s) [more].
IEEE Office 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor New York, New York 10016-5997 U.S.A. Tel: +1 212 419 7900 Fax: +1 212 752 4929