About SMCS


Young Professionals

Student Activities




Technical Committees

Board of Governors

Society Committees



SMC Chapters

Distinguished Lecturer Program


Who we are

TC Co-Chairs

Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center, USA

Florida International University, USA


  • Elisa Bertino, Purdue University, USA
  • Bhavani Thuraisingham, UT Dallas, USA
  • James Joshi, University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • Chengcui Zhang, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • Ling Liu, Georgia Institute of Technolog, USA
  • Min-Yuh Day, Tamkang University, Taiwan, R.O.C.
  • Tanvir Ahmed, Oracle, USA
  • Taghi M. Khoshgoftaar, Florida Atlantic University, USA
  • Lin Yang, Google Inc.
  • Reda Alhajj, University of Calgary, Canada
  • Suresh Vadhva, California State University, USA
  • Li Tan, Washington State University, USA
  • Wei-Bang Chen, Virginia State University, USA
  • Wen-Lian Hsu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, R.O.C.
  • Xingquan (Hill) Zhu, Florida Atlantic University, USA
  • Thouraya Bouabana-Tebibel, National School of Computer Science, Algeria
  • June R. Massoud, School Boards in Montreal, Canada
  • Ju-Yeon Jo, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, USA
  • Gongzhu Hu, Central Michigan University, USA

Our goals

Static algorithms cannot capture the full dynamics of human knowledge. Capabilities for learning, adapting, and even changing the representational basis must be enabled if computational systems can be said to be intelligent. In view of these requirements, the goal of the Knowledge Acquisition in Intelligent Systems (KAIS) technical committee is to advance the development of intelligent systems and systems of systems (SoS).

What we are doing

Why don't you join us?

  • The chance to do creative meaningful research and development.
  • The chance to interact with cool and knowledgeable colleagues.
  • The chance to visit exotic conference locations.
  • The chance to participate in exciting conferences and workshops that will help you get funding.
  • The chance to get published in quality journals.
  • The chance to live a life of discovery on your terms.


Nominations are invited for the 2014 SMC Society Awards
Nominations and supporting letters are to be submitted to the by June 15, 2014. Details of the awards can be viewed here.
Scope and Title Change of the IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics
The SMC Society is pleased to announce that the following have been elected to the SMCS Board of Governors as Member at Large

Patrick Chan
Honghai Liu
Rodney Roberts
Fabio Roli
Robert Woon

Get connected with the SMC Society and its members

Join the social networking groups of the SMC Society

SMC Society Brochure

Click here to download (1.4 Mb)

Congratulations to the SMC Society members who were elected IEEE Fellows for 2013

Kathlelen Carley
Sam Kwong
Zidong Wang
Gautam Biswas
Ashok Srivastava
Hisao Ishibuchi
Robert Kozma
Kay Tan
Kazuo Tanaka
Germano Torres
Martin Buss
Hong Zhang
Haizhou Li
Yi Murphey

SMC Society Awards for 2013
At the Annual Awards Ceremony held during the 2013 International Conference on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics in Manchester, UK, SMCS volunteers were presented with society awards to recognize their service to the SMC Society. [more]
NEW - RSS feeds for SMC Transaction Content
...more info about RSS feeds...
Automatic Table of Contents alerts
Sign up for automatic Table of Contents alerts for your favorite transaction(s) [more].
IEEE Office 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor New York, New York 10016-5997 U.S.A. Tel: +1 212 419 7900 Fax: +1 212 752 4929